Have you ever stopped to look at your life and thought, I just need to clean this mess up! That happened to me recently and so I’ve started to work on my life and remove some of the clutter.

There are so many things in this life that can distract us from our relationships. Not only our relationship with God, but also our relationships with our family and friends. For me, World of Warcraft was a huge distraction. I could spend many hours reading articles and keeping up with all the latest changes. And that doesn’t include the hours spend actually playing the game. Now I’m still a gamer at heart and video games are a part of who I am, but I can’t allow my enjoyment of digital entertainment to take over my life.

In Luke 9:23 Jesus say, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” So like me, you need to ask yourself, are you picking up your cross?

You see for me I had to say in some ways that I wasn’t. I would rather pick up my computer (since I play on a laptop) and spend some time in WoW than pick up my Bible and spend some time with God. Thankfully for my seminary training I’ve been reading through the Gospels and that verse above really hit me. Granted I’d been thinking about this change for a while, but I finally had to take the plunge and take action.

Detox from anything can be difficult, but there is so many other things in life to take advantage of, and there are so many other games out there that I can play that won’t be so life consuming. Maybe you find yourself in the same position. It may not be a video game, but there are lots of things in life that can distract you from God. Make a commitment to lay aside some of the entangling things of the world and instead pick up a cross and follow Christ.

