So we are trying to sell a car at the moment, and really, try is a loose term. About three weeks ago we bought a new car for my wife (and new really means a used vehicle that is new to us) with the intent of putting her old car up for sell to make some money back towards what we spent. And it’s still not sold.

Now let me also say that it’s not sold, because we haven’t done anything to try and sell it. For now it sits in front of our house collecting dust and not making us any money. Part of this is because the vehicle desperately needs to be cleaned out. My wife has the joy of being a taxi to our two children and so the old car looks like she lived in it.

So trying to get the car ready to be sold is going to take a lot of work. I’m guessing something in the area of two or three hours…and that’s just to get the inside cleaned out and so that it can be cleaned. There is no doubt that this is going to be a lot of work and so nothing has been done yet.

Now you may be wondering where I’m going with all this and what this has to do with a focused life. The answer is this: does fun ruin or responsibilities? You see that Bible has much to say about work and the value of it. In fact God’s word commends doing a good days labor. In fact the wisest man that ever lived had this to say about the value of work:

“Whatever your hands find to do, do it with your might, for there is no work or thought or knowledge or wisdom in Sheol, to which you are going.” Ecclesiastes 9:10

This is the only chance we get to work and God has designed us to work and to find satisfaction in our work. It’s a sterotype for a reason: most men find satisfaction in their work.

This doesn’t mean that God doesn’t want us to have fun as well. Don’t forget that he did give man the Sabbath as well! But we need to be careful to make sure that everyday doesn’t turn into a Sabbath rest.

So for me, tomorrow (since I’m writing this in the middle of the night) I’m going to finally buckle down and get that car cleaned out and ready to be detailed. I don’t really have a reason not to other than there are just other things I’d rather do. Wish me luck!

