There are certain aspects about God that we really have to experience in order to understand. The problem with experience is that you can’t always set up a situation in which you can gain that experience.

Have you ever read John 14:15 and thought you had it completely figured out? The verse reads, “If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” Simply, right? I thought so too when I was younger. And then I got married and had kids.

Having kids really helped me understand the fatherhood of God. As my kids moved from the blob stage to the crawling stage there became times in which they would not do what we asked. The more often this occurred the more often this verse came to mind. There would be times I would be so frustrated with one of my children that I would ask them, “Do you love daddy? Then why don’t you do what I ask?” Of course that didn’t always work.

The same is true in your life and mine. Jesus has told us what to do and yet so often we don’t do it. In those times we need to check our hearts and ask: do we love Jesus? Sadly there have been times when my heart has grown cold and if I’m honest with myself then I would have to answer, no, in that instance.

As we grow in our relationship with Christ we need to recognize those times in our lives when we don’t love Jesus and seek him out! It’s not an easy thing, but our commitment to Christ, because of his sacrifice for us, should draw us back and warm our hearts once again to him.

