So it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, and all I can do is apologize for that. What I wanted to look at today actually revolves around an issue that I have been struggling with – what do you do when your life becomes unfocused?

This is something that I’ve struggled with over the years and seems to come and go with the various seasons of life. At times my relationship with Christ is intimate and growing; progress is being made and I can see that my life is being changed for the better.

But like all good things there are times when my relationship seems to be on hold. I doubt and wonder about where I am in my life and is this where I want to be. Is God even important? Now I know what you’re thinking, “Why would I want insights from a guy that struggles?” Well the fact of the matter is that my insights have been gained after a life of struggle and no one in this world has a struggle free life. If you are looking the quick fix or easy road then you had best move on, Christianity isn’t for you.

The fact remains that just because we have become Christians doesn’t mean that life is easy or simple, but it is a good life. I say this because nothing in the world compares to having a relationship with Jesus. We may at times wander and struggle with our faith and wonder if any of it is even real, but the truth is that those feelings are normal.

Yet what does one do when they find themselves in that predicament. There is a part of that answer that is going to be different for each person, I can only tell you what helps for me. The first thing I do is recognize that I’m in the middle of a struggle. This can be hard because we often fool ourselves into thinking that everything is alright. But when you look at your life and realise, “Hey, I haven’t opened my Bible except on Sunday in…three months?” that’s when you know you have a problem. So recognize that you have an issue and then begin the process of renewal.

Next I try to start reading my Bible again. Because I spend so much time with the Bible as a text book I often don’t just sit and read. So I take some time each day and actually just read the text. I’m not studying or preparing a sermon, though things may come to mind, but I simply read the text and let the story come alive. I love to read and have since I was young; just letting the words wash over me and immersing myself in the story really helps rekindle that passion.

Finally I pray. This, for me, is the most difficult for some reason. There’s something difficult about approaching God when you’ve been away for a while even when you know that you are loved and accepted it’s hard to approach God. It’s like the prodigal son who when he finally returned to his father’s house knew that he was unworthy to be there. My prayers tend to be very conversational in nature so taking a little bit of time in the car by myself and praying is key. Usually I’m by myself and I like to spend the time thinking. Being intentional and taking that time to pray helps renew my passion for my Lord as well.

The fact is that we are all going to struggle, but there are little steps that you can take to help in the process. Maybe it’s different for you, the importance is simply to examine your life and understand what works best for you in your relationship with God.

