bible crossSo I messed up. Not like in the committed adultery way; no this would be something very small if other people knew the details. In fact you would probably hear what I did and simply say, “Meh, I’ve seen worse.” But that’s not the point.

You see how we handle ourselves in these little situations makes a big difference in our lives, even though we tend to think whatever! Yet if we look at Matthew 25:14-30 we see that the little things matter.

The story is well known, the parable of the talents, and is something that you are probably familiar with. If not, here’s a quick synopsis: a man goes on a journey and entrusts some money to his servants, 10 talents to one, 5 to another, and 1 to the last. The one with 10 makes ten more; the 5, five more; and the last buried it in the ground. When the master returned he called to account the money he gave. He was pleased with the first two but the last servant he had thrown out into the “outer darkness.” The servant could have at least put the money in the bank and made a little interest!

So what does that have to do with my screwup? Well in something small, one talent, I wasn’t as faithful as I should have been. Now I don’t think my master is calling me to account and is going to have me thrown into the outer darkness (there are limits to the analogy), but this was a subtle reminder that if you want more responsibility then you need to be faithful with what you have.

Now I apologized right away and asked my wife to forgive me, which she did, but the damage was done. A little damage anyway. What about your life? Is there someone that you have hurt, or something that you have not been faithful in that you need to resolve? Do it now! There is no better time than the present.

