BusinessmanJust two more days of shirts and then it’ll be on to other things. Today was button up shirt day. Going into today I thought this would be perhaps the second largest collection out of all the shirt types, after all I used to work for a bank, but it turned out to be the smallest.

In total I had twenty-four button up, dress style, shirts. That brings the total number of shirts that I had up to eighty-eight (88); we haven’t even gotten to t-shirts yet! On a side note: don’t judge me man!

The smallest number of shirts also turned out to be the easiest to go through. All but nine of the shirts didn’t fit. Now that’s what I call easy! I hung those nine up, took the remaining to my armchair and went about the rest of my day.

One thing that I have also been doing which has been a ton of fun and something that should save us a little money in the long run, is making my own bread. I google’d a simple recipe and have made a few loaves now. The thing that I like about making my own bread verses store-bought is 1) it’s a little cheaper (each loaf is about $0.11 to make) and 2) the bread fills me up a lot more. The consistency is usually a little denser than a normal loaf from the grocery store with the result that after just a couple of slices, I’m usually good.

That got me to thinking about the Lord’s Prayer.

Pray then like this: Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name.
Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.
And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Matt 6:9-13

Daily bread. Having made some of my own now I can easily see how this would be a staple food during the first century. Making it today is a pretty simple process; in fact I just throw all the ingredients into our bread maker and have it make the dough for me. Then I shape it and cook it in the oven since I don’t really like the shape, and large hole, left by the bread machine. But it would have been much more work and time to make bread in those days of yore.

I say all that to say that making my own bread has really given me some perspective on what it means to rely on the Lord daily for our provisions. I can do all I can to make ends meet, but God alone provides for what I need. Maybe tomorrow I’ll go to work and find I’ve been laid off; it doesn’t seem likely, but it could happen. The end of the thing is this: trust in the Lord to provide for your needs.

Articles in this Series

