One of the things I have been doing lately is driving the speed limit. Sounds crazy, I know, but there is a couple of reasons. First, I don’t run the risk of getting a ticket. I don’t know about you, but I can’t really afford the fine at this point! Second, I almost always get where I’m going in the same amount of time.

So today I was on my way to pick up my daughter from school; I was driving the speed limit and I noticed several cars passing me by. At the next sign I checked and sure enough, I was going the maximum allowed speed. This got me to thinking my spiritual walk.

One of the things that is so easy to do is to look at the people around us, see their spirituality and think we are nothing compared to them. In the 20th and 21st century we often look to the mega ministry leaders like Billy Graham, Chuck Swindoll, John MacArthur, John Piper and many more. We see these people as “giants” of the faith and we think that we could never be reach that level of spiritual maturity.

For me, it’s my dad’s parents. Every time we talk they are able to share about the numerous people that they have been blessed to share Christ with and the ways in which their ministry is growing. I’m very happy for the way that God has used them but there is always just a hint of jealously hiding in my heart and thoughts.

Of course this is no way for a person to live but how are we to think about our spiritual relationship in light of other people? A passage that comes to mind is John 21:20-22

Peter turned and saw the disciple whom Jesus loved following them, the one who had been reclining at table close to him and had said, “Lord, who is it that is going to betray you?” When Peter saw him, he said to Jesus, “Lord, what about this man?” Jesus said to him, “If it is my will that he remain until I come, what is that to you? You follow me!”

Peter is asking what will happen to John; a fair question when you consider everything that is happened. But notice that Jesus gives a little rebuke and tells Peter that his only concern should be following Christ.

That is something that we need to consider in our own lives. Too often we get “gift envy” when we examine other peoples lives. I’m not a gifted evangelist like my grandparents; I’ve never actually had the experience of another person trusting in Christ because I shared the gospel with them. This can be very discouraging and the devil can use this to keep us from sharing our faith.While my gifting doesn’t lead me to see hundreds of people trust in Christ, that doesn’t mean I’m not still useful for the kingdom.

Rather, I’ve learned to see myself as a “watermen.” 1 Corinthians 3:6 tells us that different people, even among the apostles, had different jobs. Paul was a planter and Apollos watered. I see myself more in the roll of Apollos. In fact on several occasions I’ve heard of people who I’ve shared my faith with coming to Christ, sometimes years later.

My point is this: don’t worry about what God is doing in the life of those around you. You follow Christ and the rest will take care of itself.

*One thing that I need to briefly discuss is that we are to care about what is going on in another believers life, but it is only so we can encourage them and rejoice with them. We shouldn’t be comparing ourselves with each other. Just because my brother or sister has been given ten talents I shouldn’t begrudge the one that God gave to me.

