Gray HairAs I was heading home from work yesterday I took the chance to enjoy the silence and spend some time in prayer. I love to pray in the car; there is just something about holding a conversation with God during the commute that really helps to refresh my spirit.

One of the interesting thoughts that came to mind as I was prayer was the way to describe what I’m hoping to do here on this blog. I’ve noticed that the type of posts that I have the most fun writing (and I hope you enjoy reading) are posts about my life and how my faith works itself out daily. The thought that I had last night (which I’m sure comes from God) was that my writing really is trying to help people be wise.

Wisdom is knowledge applied. In fact in Proverbs 1:7, Solomon writes:

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.

As I go about my day my hope and prayer is that I would have a life filled with the wisdom of God.

I remember when I was growing up the Proverbs was one of my favorite books to read. There is something about its writing that really appealed to me as a young Christian and I would often read through it.When I look back now I think that may be part of the reason I was 12 going on 30!

So how does one become wise? Let’s look at what the book of Proverbs can teach us:

Hear, O sons, a father’s instruction, and be attentive, that you may gain insight, Prov 4:1

The first thing that we need to do is listen; sadly listening has become a lost art. One of the things that my wife and I are constantly telling our children is that they need to listen. In fact just today we had a situation at home in which my son broke one of his toys because he refused to listen to use when we said that would happen (and the toy went straight to the trash too!). Of course there s nothing wrong with talking, it’s a primary means of communication; rather, like my son who broke his toy we need to be people who will listen to others and consider what they say and follow it when it agrees with God’s word. Since we are starting by listening to the Bible itself we just have to worry about the doing part!

Next we need to place value upon being wise:

Prize her highly, and she will exalt you; she will honor you if you embrace her. Prov 4:8

Too often today people to not put value in wisdom. Think about it, gray hair is a sign of being old, and who wants to grow old? ME! I DO! I love my gray hairs and it makes me sad that our society no longer values the elderly. The mindset used to be that you were wise when your hair was gray – it meant you had been around the block and had something to say about life. The elders were the leaders and they were looked up to and revered! Today though we ship them off to a nursing home so that we don’t have to be burdened with providing for people in their later part of life. But I digress. My point is that we need to put stock in wisdom, after all the book of Proverbs has been around for about 3,000 years.

Just as we need to listen, and put value in being wise, we also need to internalize wisdom and make it a part of who we are:

Let them not escape from your sight; keep them within your heart. For they are life to those who find them, and healing to all their flesh. Prov 4:21-22

You and I need to make wisdom a part of who we are; we need to make it a natural part of our everyday life. Like many things in our spiritual lives memorizing Scripture is never a bad thing. Proverbs are especially nice because they are usually short, complete, thoughts. Take some time and memorize some of the Proverbs – maybe start with 1:7 mentioned at the beginning of this post, then move on to others. Or find another piece of Scripture, something that has been impactful in your life, and commit it to heart.

Perhaps one of the best ways to start with the Proverbs is to read a chapter a day. There are thirty-one chapters in the book so it makes it nice to read in a month. Read through the verses and think about what they teach. Remember that these are not promises but rather observations about life and how it works. Memorize some if you are so inclined; above all listen to what they teach so that your life can be filled with the Wisdom of God!

*No that is not me in the picture 🙂

Related Posts:
What’s Important to You
When Parents Fail

