My last semester of seminary started this week and I have mixed feelings about that. On the one hand, I’m really looking forward to being done – it’s been 4 years and I’m ready to move on. At the same time though there is something sad about the last semester. I really do enjoy the classroom learning experience, even if I don’t like the necessity of papers.

As I was thinking through this semester it began to hit me that this will be a semester full of “lasts.” When all is said and done my last graded paper will be turned in during this year. I’ll be presenting my last sermon in front of my peers in my Expository Communication class. I’ll be attending my last required lecture. Those may sound like mundane things, but when you consider them as the end of a professional academic career, it can be a little sad.

Of course I’m not actually done learning, far from it! Just because my time in a classroom may be at an end does not mean that I’m done with my education. Just like everyone else, I’m not perfect, and I most assuredly do not know everything. After all how can we ever hope to fully understand an infinite God?

And as I look forward to walking down the aisle at graduation a begin to wonder what the future has in store. I’m starting to get together the necessary documents and paperwork for when I candidate at a church. I’m starting to think through interview strategies and questions that I need to ask of the churches that are examining me. I’m thinking through family issues and the integration of family with ministry.

While this is going to be a semester full of lasts it will also be a semester filled with the excitement of things to come in the future. My prayer is for God’s will to be done and for me to be a humble servant. He is an amazing God and I am honored to serve with my meager talents.

