This semester is my last preaching class and one of the books we have been reading made an interesting point about learning from nature in our sermon prep. The example that the author used was from Proverbs 6:6 which reads, “Go to the ant, O sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise.” What if you stood up one Sunday and taught people that they should go out into the yard with some paper and a pen, find some ants, and consider what they can teach us about God. What kind of response would one get?

My first response is that it was a little on the crazy side. I mean, really? I can honestly say that I’ve never heard a sermon give that kind of application to a passage of Scripture. Does that make it wrong though? No. In fact we know from Scripture that God created all the world and intends it to be a form of revelation to mankind. Paul addresses this very thing in the first chapter of Romans when he writes:

For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.

Have we every considered how nature can teach us about the eternal power of God? I know as a kid I loved to look up at the clouds (since we actually lived in places that had clouds) and watch all the different patterns and shapes that would appear. I also enjoyed looking up at the stars and just watching the night sky pass. As I grew older and matured in my faith I really learned to see God in those activities, and I can see the author’s point.

As an adult I don’t really spend much time outside. My hobbies are indoor hobbies; my work is indoors, schooling takes place inside. I wonder if we would learn more if we had classes in the park some days? Maybe the same is true in a church. If we as pastors are teaching the full council of God then we need to remember that natural revelation is a part of that counsel. Maybe on Sunday we should set up the chairs in the parking lot and see what God reveals!

