I got to have an interesting conversation last night with one of the ladies that I work with about the assurance of our salvation. She just finished reading a book about heaven (sorry, can’t remember the title) and the author made the claim that you can never be sure if you’ll actually be there or not until you die. This lady is very sweet and caring, but easily lead astray and so I had to share with her what the scriptures teach about the assurance of salvation.

One of the passages that I shared with her was Romans 8:38-39 which says,

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Do you see that? What is there that can separate us from the love of God? Absolutely nothing, not even myself! So often people try to say that we somehow have the power to remove ourselves from the grace of God, but this verse clearly shows that there is nothing, nothing, that can separate us from God. I guess it’s the pastor in me but I was furious to hear her exposing that view when she has such a heart for the Lord.

Another thing that I comforted her with was the argument that God has our good in mind, not our confusion. How could we ever have a relationship with him if we had no assurance that he could hear our prayers because we might be in sin? How could I study his work and have the Spirit open my eyes, if I was dead in my trespasses again? What kind of sick, twisted, God would we worship if we had no idea if we saved or not? That type of thinking drives me crazy! I am so thankful that the Scriptures confirm over and over again that confirm that we can be assured we are saved. Here is a list of some additional Scriptures that you may want to study to better understand this concept:

  • John 3:36
  • John 5:11-13
  • Acts 10:43
  • Colossians 2:13
  • Romans 8
  • Ephesians 2:8-9
  • 1 John 5:5-12

Here is also a good article with explanations of this issue that you might find helpful at Bible.org http://bible.org/seriespage/assurance-salvation

