Last night I laid down for a little nap before heading to work, probably because of all the work I’ve been doing around the house, and I was sure to set my alarm so I woke up in enough time to get ready. My phone went off after about 20 minutes, which was fine, but I had set it for an hour so I checked that the alarm was still on and went back to sleep. 10 Minutes before I need to leave for work I woke up, a full hour later than I had intended.

Now I don’t know what happened because turning off the alarm on my phone is not the simplest of tasks and it is something that I’ve never done with this phone before. I also know that the alarm will continue to go off until it is turned off, so the plot thickens! Regardless of what happened with the alarm my first thought when I saw what time it was was, “Thank you Jesus I’m not late!” I still had enough time to take a shower and get ready for work, and enough time to drive to the work without speeding.

I bring this up because I want to discuss how we respond to situations. There was a time in my life when my first thought would not have been, “Thank God,” but would be closer to “oh @#$%” How we respond to situations has a lot to say about our maturity level. As we grow in our relationship with Christ we should be reflecting his thoughts and attitudes. When Jesus was confronted with the woman caught in adultery he had every right under the Law to stone her. In fact as the Son of God shouldn’t he have stoned her as a sinner? But that’s not what we see – in fact Jesus does the opposite and convicts the people in the crowd with the simple statement, “Let him who is without sin among you be the first to throw a stone at her.” (John 8:7) When we are presented with a situation what is our first response? Do we judge and condemn, or do we think first of mercy and grace?

Now granted waking up late may not be the best scenario, but think about events that happen everyday. Someone cuts you off in traffic: do you a) thank God they didn’t kill you, or b) curse out the window in sign language? When a clerk gives you too much change do you a) go back and return the extra, or b) look at it as a “bonus?” The Christian life isn’t just something that we live out on Sunday and Wednesday but it’s something that affects, or at least should, every aspect of our lives. Let Christ into every area of your life, not just the spiritual part.

