This morning I got up and have to admit that I was angry. The kids had been yelling at each other since about a quarter to five; Sarah hadn’t taken her pre-breakfast medicine, and they were in the process of making themselves breakfast. On top of that I snapped over the way the house looks because it’s still in a state that has me mostly insane. This morning, I had no patience.

Patience is one of those strange things that we all want and few of us rarely display because, you know, we’re just too busy to have patience. In fact one of the things that I’ve heard over the years is that you should never pray for patience because it is one of those lessons that is really difficult to learn. And you know what, it is a hard lesson. It’s hard because learning to be patient is so counter intuitive to the way things get done.

This applies to all areas of our life. We think that by raging and yelling at our kids we can make them move faster, thus getting things accomplished quicker. If we run about trying to accomplish all of our goals, which are way more than we can realistically handle, we think that we will be satisfied. But sadly this is not the case, in fact just the opposite happens. We make ourselves miserable by not letting things go and taking it a little slower.

Isn’t patience one of the fruit of the Spirit? “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22) As a Christian my desire is to live in a way that is pleasing to Christ, but if I don’t have patience then I’m not living in the Spirit. If I choose to be angry and short with those around me I’m not being pleasing to Christ. And patience is hard.

Today, don’t be like me. Take a deep breath, close your eyes, and remember that God is in control. I think he’s smart/powerful enough to handle the job.

